on.-


Cora “Name Your Poison” Bar Glasses from Neiman Marcus
12 November, 2009, 5:06 pm
Filed under: Culture, Graphic Design, Products

PoisonHeader

My family had a set of these “Name Your Poison” glasses growing up. They were large heavy bottomed drinking glasses individually titled: Cyanide, Currare, Hemlock, Strychnine, Belladonna and Arsenic. They came with little glass stirrers and did a very good job of looking kind of ominous.

I’m not sure where or when (1970s I suppose) my mother originally got them, but they functioned as one of our sets of drinking glasses(non-alcoholic). But as a child I refused to use them, or at least did so with a sense of dread. It’s not that I though my mom was trying to poison me, but I was certain they were at one time filled with whatever was written on them. By drinking out of them I was sure to die from whatever trace amounts might be left. Obviously I was a bit literal, gullible, yet selectivly suspicious of dishwashers.

My friend sent me a link about the Restaurant Modern Toilet, a Taiwanese restaurant chain where guest sit on toilets and all the food is served on toilet shape dinner wear. Yet again, dispite knowing better, my brain says STAY AWAY. Appearences go a long way.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I bought a set of these glasses for my parents, as a christmas gift, many years ago (like…30 years ago…I was a teen working in an upscale department store in uptown New Orleans). They still have them, and they are in perfect condition, because they never used them. They are an ornamental prop on their display rack where they keep all of thier finer collectibles. I wish I could find another set, because I would love to gift them to my son-in-law. I think they are gems, just as I did when i purchased them so many years ago. Can’t find them, though, darn it.

Comment by Rhonda




Leave a Reply

